Local candidates meet filing deadline

Local candidates meet filing deadline

Though it’s only June, it’s already time to think about local elections. Here’s a list of those who met the June 1 filing deadline to run for the Garden City commission, school board and college board of trustees, and the Holcomb city council and school board in the Nov. 7 general election:

Garden City Commission

Three seats open. Only incumbent Melvin Dale filed for re-election. Commissioners Janet Doll and Chris Law decided not to run. In addition to Dale, the slate includes Lyndsay Byrnes, Pedro Rodrequez, Keith Collins, Troy Unruh, John Hahn and Chris Hamilin. Those who finish with the three highest vote totals will be elected.

USD 457 school board

Three seats are on the ballot. Incumbents Jean Clifford and Lara Bors are seeking reelection, while Gloria Hopkins is not. Others who filed include Tim Hanigan, Alex Wallace and Jeff Sims.

GCCC Board of Trustees

Three seats up for election. Incumbents Merilyn Douglass, Melvin Neufeld and Black Wasinger filed, and will be joined on the ballot by David Rupp and Leonard Hitz.

Holcomb City Council

Three seats are up for election and only incumbent Ron Schreibvogel met the filing deadline. Council members Scott Homer and Mark Richmeier did not. The only other person to file was Sam Mesa.

USD 363 Holcomb Board of Education

Those who filed included Jill George, incumbent position 4; Kasey Robinson, incumbent position 5; and Matthew Jones and Cody Douglas filed for position 6.